Monday, February 7, 2011

This is the industry that some Oklahoma Senators want to protect

CIMG0150

Last year, the Oklahoma legislature passed SB1712, the Commercial Pet Breeders Act, which provided a framework to help alleviate the problem of Puppy Mills in Oklahoma.

With the advent of the November elections, some Senators in districts with large numbers of breeders see an opening, and they are attempting to gut, if not completely repeal the CPBA before it even gets a chance to start to work.

The Tulsa World published the results of a poll showing overwhelming support for this law. Yet there are 4 bills being argued before the agricultural committee designed to stop the progress in it's tracks.

If you are an Oklahoma reading this, we need you to contact the members of that committee immediately and tell them not to let the breeders need for profit outweigh the desire of the majority of Oklahomans to bring an end to this blight. Tell them that we will not stand for our great state to become the worst puppy mill state in the union.

Tell them that the picture above is not and will not serve as Oklahoma's legacy.


Agricultural Committee Members and Contacts


Senator Eddie Fields – Chair
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 514B
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5581
efields@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Becky Welch

Senator Ron Justice
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 423
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5537
justice@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Linda Terrill 

Senator Mark Allen
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 415
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5576
allen@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Suzanne Earnest

Senator Patrick Anderson
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 417A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5630
anderson@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Kathie Gasaway  

Senator Don Barrington
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 515
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405.521.5563
barrington@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Sandra Shelton

Senator Randy Bass
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 528B
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5567
bass@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Donna Ambler

Senator Jerry Ellis
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 535
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405.521.5614
ellis@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Jean McCurley

Senator Tom Ivester
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 529A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5545
ivester@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Pam McLerran

Senator David Myers
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 519
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405.521.5628
ingraham@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Betsy Ingraham

Senator Frank Simpson
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 513B
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5607
simpson@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Glenda Colbert

Senator Anthony Sykes
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 426
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5569
lewis@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Tonya Lewis

Senator Charles Wyrick
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 521
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5561
wyrick@oksenate.gov
Executive Assistant: Linda Bostick

No comments:

Amazon SearchBox

Sorry -- more ads